2. The Unrequited love poem: How do you feel when you love someone who does not love you back?

Jeez.

I honestly have no idea where to start with this.

I’ve never actually been in love. I hope to be, but up till now I’ve just experienced a few relationships that weren’t actually real relationships. I’ve never been really kissed, I’ve never been on a date, and I don’t think I’ve really had a big crush on anyone.

How do you write about something you haven’t experienced? How do you write about something that gives you anxiety? How do you pretend to want something that honestly, you aren’t really sure you would be comfortable with?

It has to be a poem, so I guess I’ll start there. To be honest, I kinda want to just throw this one out, just completely ignore it and never come back, but I don’t want to quit on day two. That’s a little too pathetic for my taste.

I just tried to start, and I couldn’t think of an idea. Luckily my best friend is super supportive and will help me out.

Pray for me. This is gonna be a rough one.

Love That Was

He told me once that he loved her.

He said,

I loved with a love that was more than love.

I loved my Annabel Lee.

And he gazed across the courtyard,

He gazed across the field,

Across the court,

Over the hills,

Into her starry, moonlit eyes.

He loved that Annabel Lee.

And while he was gazing,

At eyes that would never quite meet,

He would turn away from

Me.

And so I gazed at him,

At his starry, moonlight eyes,

Eyes that spent their time gazing

At one who gazed at another,

Who gazed at yet another,

And gazed at another again.

Human centipede of looking away from those

Who gazed at you,

To find someone who could never please.

Eventually I grew up.

Sometimes I still dream about those eyes,

And in my dreams they still never meet mine.

I always wake up before they do.

But now they greet me

As I walk in through the open door,

But it is not love.

It was never meant to be.

Now that his eyes reach mine I realize how normal they always were,

I loved the unlovable.

I loved with a love that was more than love

Because it could never be love.

Because it was safer than love,

Easier than love,

Less

Terrifying.

So no,

I guess I’ve never been in love,

Now that you ask.

Pathetic.

Isn’t it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

