I think this story speaks for itself. It’s a bit graphic and kinda creepy, but I’ve had this one bouncing around in my mind for some time. Hope you enjoy!

6. Eye Contact: Write about two people seeing each other for the first time.

Windows to the Soul

You see the strangest people at the bus station. Well, no, let me rephrase. You feel the strangest things about people you see at the bus station. Once I saw a drag queen who looked EXACTLY like Jennifer Lawrence. She made me feel alive. I remember looking into her sparkling brown eyes, and I could almost feel her vitality pulsing through my veins. I don’t think she looked at me. WHat reason did she have? She was beautiful, and I am not.

I like to look at people the same way some like to look at art. Perhaps it was my face. I am not hideous, but I’m certainly no beauty. If you had to choose me out of a lineup, it would be practically impossible. Go online and look up a composite photo of the average white American male, and the first picture you see will be exactly like my face. Seriously. I think that’s why I love people-watching so much.

No, I’m not a stalker. Most people think I’m a stalker when I tell them I like to people-watch. I’m mostly in it for the strange bits of beauty. They make me feel… Redeemed. Sometimes I feel alive, but most of the time I just feel proud to be part of a race that can create such incredible beauty.

My favorite memory was this one young girl. She must have been about twenty years old, with these piercing blue eyes and perfectly olive skin. It was her hair that made me grin, escapading from her shoulders in these gorgeous flowing curls. The wind whipped them slightly to the side, and she swept her hair back elegantly with one hand, the other used to hold on to her steaming hot Starbucks.

I imagined where she could possibly be going. Perhaps she was on her way to some elite party, going to meet up with her boyfriend in the park afterwards. Around here, many girls meet up “in the park,” which was just code for sex. I’m not going to lie, I was a bit envious of the imaginary man she was going to sleep with.

As I imagined her future, she turned and looked me in the eye.

It was like being hit by a bolt of lightning. My chest tightened, my heart beat fast than a racehorse, and suddenly I could breathe. I tried to wave at her, but I was completely dumbfounded. She grinned at me, and I felt my heart melt.

She’s the one. I knew it in my heart.

She kept walking away. I wasn’t sure what to do, but I couldn’t simply allow this opportunity to slip from my hands.

I followed behind her.

Yeah, I knew it was creepy as hell the moment I started after her, but I simply couldn’t help myself! I just had to meet her eyes, just one more time. I had to feel that same beautiful feeling. God, she was beautiful.

She never looked back, no matter how much I silently willed her to. We walked, her and I (although she was not aware that I was with her) through serpentine alleys. We walked through half-deserted streets, the muttering retreats of the half-crazed. I was glad I was with her so that I could protect her when one of these people finally snapped and went after her. SHe was so alluring, that I wouldn’t be surprised if one of these crazies went for her. She was, after all, something like the pied-piper.

Her walk was entrancing. I’ve never seen anything like it, not even now. She almost bounced, as if she was about to take off into flight but was somehow tied to Earth. She was this mystifying enigma that I had to find out.

Okay, okay, I sound like a creep. I know. I swear, I’m not a creep! I just wanted to see her eyes, just one more time. And that feeling! Oh how I craved it! I had to feel it, one last time.

Finally, our long trek came to an end as she stopped at the door of a small house. It was one story tall, wedged in between two large banks, as if it had been built at the last second without any real thought.

It was the first obstacle I faced. Obviously, I couldn’t follow her in the house, right?

The door closed.

I shouldn’t follow her in the house, right?

The lock didn’t click.

Well, if the lock didn’t click, then clearly she can’t be trying to keep me out. Perhaps she noticed I was there, perhaps she heard my footsteps and knew I was there. Yes, she must have kept it open for me.

I waited a moment, gathering up my courage. Then I silently twisted the knob, allowing the door to slowly open. I stepped in, silently.

She house was tiny, tiny but as beautiful as her  hair. The whole house smelled like her, slightly of vanilla, but also of sweat. The scent of a living human being, warm and vibrant. My palms began to tingle.

I heard her voice, quietly humming “Love on Top,” and I turned the corner to see her dancing a little in the kitchen. Her swaying hips enticed me, and suddenly I felt the need to see her eyes blossom in me, growing larger than I could possibly contain. Slipping silently into her kitchen, I came right up behind her and slid my hands on her hips.

She screamed.

“I just needed to see your eyes.” I said, and I felt the same feeling I felt before. I felt my palms tingle, my heart race. I knew it was real. My bloodlust was growing, and I grinned.

Before I knew it, I was covered in her warm blood.

Her eyes were still open.

I wanted her eyes.

“So, you killed her?” Asked the prosecuting attorney.

I laughed. “What else could I do? Of course I killed her! I needed her eyes! Don’t you see? They were perfect. They were perfect eyes, eyes I had never seen and could never see again they were too perfect for her. She wouldn’t use them like I would use them! Don’t you see? Don’t you see?”

“Where are the eyes?” The attorney’s voice trembled, and he paled a little. He was too squeamish, and not nearly handsome enough for my taste.

“They were perfect. They were perfect. THEY WERE PERFECT! Do you think I’d ever let someone like you see them? Don’t you see? They were perfect, and now they are mine and now I am perfect because they are perfect and they were her’s but I had to take them because they had to be mine because THEY WERE PERFECT! You will never see them, you will never touch them.”

The judge ruled quilty.

I’m not shocked, I’m guilty as hell. Besides, you should’ve seen the look on the juries’ faces! They were terrified!

All except one, Juror number six. She had the most captivating mouth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

