Today has been a lousy day. Honestly, I didn’t really want to write a story today. I just wanted to curl up in bed and sleep forever, but here I am. I actually really like this story. It’s… different. It’s dark, but it’s good.

15. Eavesdropper: Create a poem, short story, or journal entry about a conversation you’ve overheard.

“So, I’ve decided to give online dating a try.” He said, only a month after it ended.

I wasn’t supposed to hear this. I know it was a butt-dial, but I wanted to hear his voice just one last time. God, I missed him so fucking badly.

He was a good guy. He was funny, we loved the same things, and we would spend hours upon hours talking. I loved him. I had known him since I was very young, and we were so close.

It cut me so deeply, hearing him say this.

Of course, I couldn’t say anything. I wasn’t supposed to be hearing him say this. Hell, it had been a solid month! I shouldn’t have been thinking of him!

Ever since he ended it, I’ve been a bit of a stalker. Look, nothing major, just following him on Facebook, watching him walk his dog from my window, Twitter, you know how it is.

As I listened in on his phone for a long while, hearing bits of conversation or laughter. Tears welled up in my eyes.

“He’s moved on, hasn’t he?” I said aloud, forgetting the phone in my hand. Luckily, he didn’t notice.

Only a month, and he’s moved on. So much has happened in that month! It’s been so hard, this hellish month.

I remember the day he ended it. It was cold outside, snowing just slightly. I had curled up on the couch sipping hot chocolate with a book in my lap. He came in after work. He looked troubled as he walked into the kitchen.

“What’s up?” I asked from my chair. He didn’t say anything, just grunted. It was silent for a moment, and then the yelling started up. I’m not going to lie, I was frightened. I ran into the kitchen, half-terrified, half-curious. I peeked around the corner, and I found him. He had never been a brute, but he looked terrifying. My mom recoiled as he got right up in her face.

“You listen here you bitch, you gave your vows to me! To me! How dare you? How dare you?” He was seething with rage, his voice low compared to my mother’s shrill screech. I shivered, confused.

“How coudl you sleep with him? Oh God! He bragged to all the boys in the breakroom about it! Talking about moves you pulled on him! What the fuck is your problem?”

I felt the tears roll down my cheeks as I began to realize two things, 1. my parents were not happily married, and 2. my mother was a whore.

I felt like I was standing on a precipice, glancing over the edge. I knew my life was about to crumble, I knew my dad was going to leave, that my life would change completely. I just wish I had known how different it would be.

When dad left, mom crumbled. She had always had some… issues, but it was like she couldn’t function without him. I was alone, I was no longer the daughter, I was the mother.

And then, this asshole, he decides to date someone else? What the fuck man? What the hell are you doing? You won’t pay child support, you won’t help me out with mom, you just check out and act as if this whole thing doesn’t have anything to do with you.

No, I’m not gonna sit passively by as he destroys everything I have, everything I was.

He walks his dog around the block every night at 6, come rain or sleet or snow. I know where he goes, I know he likes to take the shortcut on the little trail through the woods. It’s next to the little creek we used to go fishing on. I’m going fishing tonight, and he’s going to join me. I just have to buy some bait.

Well, maybe I’ll just use him as bait.

 

Leave a Reply

